What is PBI - Public Broadcasters International?

Public service broadcasting executives from around the world have met annually since 1990 to share experiences and ideas about how best to deal with challenges unique to public service broadcasting.

PBI was created on the initiative of, amongst others, PBS, CBC and TV Ontario in North America and was soon joined by many others including BBC, NHK, KBS, SVT, DR, NRK, SABC, RTE, and France Télévisions. Since then more than 80 public service broadcasters – representing all continents – have become members. The PBI conference usually takes place in autumn and is hosted by a member broadcaster representing different continents on rotation. PSBs from North America, Africa, Asia and Europe have subsequently hosted conferences.

Membership not only supports international PSB but guarantees attendance at the PBI Conference and access to the information PBI gathers (eg. broadcaster profiles). It is open to broadcasters offering programmes and news for all audiences and who are required, by law or charter, to serve general public interests. PBI is not-for-profit. Membership fees which contribute towards each annual conference depend on the size of the broadcaster. Associate membership is also available. Further details will be provided upon initial registration or on request via email at: pbi-montreal2016@radio-canada.ca.

Who takes part?

Senior executives from most of the important public service media groups and union representatives (ABU, EBU, PMA, SABA) meet during the three-day conference. This provides the chance for high-level and wide-ranging debate and the development of a network of PSB leaders across the world.

Please contact Toshiyuki Sato, Secretary-General of PBI, for further information and details on how to become a PBI member.

PBI Conferences have previously been held:

  • 2015 Munich (Germany) ARD/BR
  • 2014 Rio de Janeiro (Brasil) EBC
  • 2013 Washington (US) PBS
  • 2012 London (UK) BBC
  • 2011 Singapore MediaCorp
  • 2010 Sintra (Portugal) RTP
  • 2009 Kyoto (Japan) NHK
  • 2008 Arles (France) Francetelevisions
  • 2007 Seoul (Korea) KBS
  • 2006 Maputo (Mozambique) RM, TVM
  • 2005 Oslo (Norway) NRK
  • 2004 Macao (China) TDM
  • 2003 Krakow (Poland) Polish TV
  • 2002 Hong Kong (China) RTHK
  • 2001 Toronto (Canada) TVOntario, CBC
  • 2000 Cape Town (South Africa) SABC
  • 1999 Belfast (UK) BBC
  • 1998 Biarritz (France) Francetelevisions
  • 1997 Washington DC (USA) PBS
  • 1996 Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) RTM
  • 1995 Prague (Czech) CTV
  • 1994 Stockholm (Sweden) SVT
  • 1992 Brussels (Belgium) BRTN
  • 1991 Toronto (Canada) TV Ontario in association with NHK